Welcome Guest | Login

Industry News


Emotional scenes at media award

Oct 29, 2007
Oct 29, 2007  Dr R Poornima received the Essel Karnataka's Best Media Award from Mr K V R Tagore, Commissioner, Information Department on October 26, 2007. Dr R Poornima was voted for the Award by the people of Karnataka from among the nominees shortlisted by an eminent Jury. . Dr R Poornima has set a record as the first lady editor of a newspaper in Karnataka. She has made a name for herself through her fearless writing and support to the cause of the downtrodden. She has emerged as a journalist with a cause. . The other Award winners were: Mr Basavaraj Swamy (Editor, Sudhi Moola, Raichur) under the District Journalism category; Mr M Madan Mohan (Former Special Correspondent, The Hindu) under the Exemplary Contribution category; Mr N S Ponnappa under the Cartoonist category and Ms Seethalakshmi S (Special Correspondent, The Times of India) under the Promising Journalist category. . The Lifetime Achievement award was conferred on Mr M B Singh (Former Editor, Prajavani) and Mr T S Satyan, (Freelance Photojournalist). . After listening to the inspiring words of senior journalists, Seethalakshmi who incidentally completed 15 years in the profession on the Awards day, promised that she would never quit journalism. While the senior journalists felt that the Award was a recognition of their long standing contribution, the younger winners said this honour would motivate them to conquer greater heights. . In attendance were literary giants Prof L S Seshagiri Rao and Dr Sa Shi Marulaiah; Senior Director of Doordarshan Bangalore Kendra, Dr Mahesh Joshi; President of the Karnataka Media Academy, Mr V N Subba Rao; journalism teachers and students; media professionals; socialites and retired judges. . The Jury which selected the winners was headed by Justice U L Bhat, retired Chief Justice of the Guwahati High Court. . “The Essel Group had set up a panel of eminent editors to nominate journalists for the Awards. All nominations were placed before the Jury which selected seven winners. The winners are a mix of youth and experience,” said Dr M. Gautham Machaiah, Vice-President, Essel Group. Mail your feedback on this article to esselnewsletter@zeenetwork.com.