Welcome Guest | Login

Industry News


Essel Karnataka's Best Art & Culture Award

Nov 23, 2007
Nov 23, 2007 

Eminent personalities who have contributed to the richness of Karnataka's culture will converge at the Essel Awards ceremony on November 23, 2007. They include noted theatre personalities like Master Hirannaiah and Padmashree Chindodi Leela, renowned singer Shimoga Subbanna and well-known dancer Rashmi Hegde.


The winners of the Essel Karnataka's Best Art and Culture Award are: B. Jayashree (theatre personality and singer), B K S Varma (painter), T C Savitha (folk dancer), Shridhar and Anuradha (Bharathanatyam dance couple) and Shubhendra Rao (sitarist). One among the five awardees will emerge as the winner of the People's Choice Award through televoting which will be announced at the award ceremony in Bangalore this evening.


The Lifetime Achievement Award will be conferred on Dr Yanagi Balappa (eminent theatre personality). As suggested by the Jury, a special mention will also be made of three young artistes, Jayaram Perumal and Victor Jara (photographer and Sculptor) and Kirti Ramgopal (Bharathanatyam dancer).



Mail your feedback on this article to esselnewsletter@zeenetwork.com.