Welcome Guest | Login

Industry News


ICL announces its teams

Nov 15, 2007
Nov 15, 2007  The Indian Cricket League (ICL) has announced the list of names for the six teams and their respective coaches for the 20-20 venture, which commences on November 30, 2007. The six teams are 'Chennai Superstars'' (with Australian Michel Bevan as coach), 'Mumbai Champs' (Sandip Patil), 'Delhi Jets' (Madanlal), 'Chandigarh Lions' (Balwinder Sandhu), 'Hyderabad Heroes' (former Pakistan captain Moin Khan) and 'Kolkata Tigers' (South African batsman Darryl Cullinan). Twenty four international players - six South Africans, five Pakistanis, four players each from England and New Zealand, two each from Ireland and Sri Lanka and one Australian - have been equally divided among the six teams. “We have ensured that the teams are balanced in every way and receive the best facilities in terms of coaching, showcasing talent and exposure to international cricket,” said Kapil Dev, Chairman - Executive Board, ICL. The third practice camp for the teams will begin on November 16, in each city. The practice match venues are Tau Devilal Stadium in Chandigarh, Laharo Resorts in Hyderabad and Chennai, CCFC Club in Kolkata- CCFC Club, Teri Oval, Gurgaon in Delhi and Railway Grounds in Mumbai. Mail your feedback on this article to esselnewsletter@zeenetwork.com.