Welcome Guest | Login

Industry News


ICL lines up 5 tourneys in next season

Dec 17, 2007
Dec 17, 2007  Buoyed by the success of the inaugural Twenty20 tournament, the Indian Cricket League (ICL) has announced that it will organise five tournaments, including a 50-over domestic championship, in the next season. The new season, which will see participation from the Indian players who have joined the League, begins in February. “In February-March, a Twenty20 triangular series will see the best of Indian players, players from Asian countries and the rest of the world taking part,” Essel Group Chairman Subhash Chandra said. “The number of participating teams will go up to eight from six to take part in the 'ICL Grand Championship' Twenty20 tournament in March-April,” he added. The Chairman also announced that ICL will open academies in prominent cities in April-May 2008 and in September-October eight teams will participate in the 'ICL Invitational T20 Cup'. November-December will again see eight teams participating in the T20 Championship's second edition. The forthcoming championships will be played at different venues, including metro cities. “Within a few years, these players will play for the country,” stated Kapil Dev, Chairman of the ICL Executive Board. Mail your feedback on this article to esselnewsletter@zeenetwork.com.